Gbemi Saraki, Teslim Folarin, Hope Uzodinma, Others, Join APC

Thirty-four State Chairmen of the Ali Modu Sheriff-led faction of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) on Thursday formally defected to the the All Progressives Congress (APC). They include incumbent senator Hope Uzodinma, and former senators Gbemisola Saraki and Teslim Folarin, Premium Times reports.
The defectors were led to the APC National Secretariat, Abuja by Cairo Ojougboh where they were received by the National Chairman of APC, John Odigie-Oyegun.
Mr. Ojougboh, who was the Deputy National Chairman of the Sheriff faction of the PDP, said the decision of the defectors to join the APC had been on for seven months.
Mr. Odigie-Oyegun, who received the defectors in company of governors of Kaduna, Kano and Kogi states and the Secretary to the Federal Government (SGF) Boss Mustapha, described the development as the first in the history of the party.
“This is the first time this magnitude of event is happening since the amalgamation of the party and since the APC came into being.
´´It is the first time we are receiving a total party with all the structures all over the nation fusing into the APC.
´´We have three of our Governors from three of our most potent states and the SGF to be here and to receive you all, because seeing is believing,’’ he said.
Mr. Odigie-Oyegun added that the entrance of the defectors to the APC proved that PDP was a dying party, adding that people do not join a losing party.